Skip to main content
Explore WV

EXPLORE
WV

Explore WV trips include a sampling of adventure activities, including camping, backpacking, whitewater rafting, and travel around the state of West Virginia.

This trip is $95 or less

Explore WV Details

  • Cost $95. The university is subsidizing all trips
  • Student who are Pell Grant eligible will pay $0
  • 1 additional First Year Seminar Credit
  • Fall academic requirements: 2 reflection papers, 1 adventure activity
  • Trip size - 19 - 22 students (occasionally smaller trips of 10 students)
  • All Explore WV trips are 6 days long
  • No prior experience necessary
  • Visit our FAQ page for more info

2018 Program Dates & Capacity

Program
Dates Capacity
Notes
Explore 1 A Saturday, June 2 - Thursday, June 7 
19  Spruce Knob
Explore 2 C Saturday, June 9 - Thursday, June 14
19  Spruce Knob
Explore 3 A Saturday, June 16 - Thursday, June 21
19  Spruce Knob
Explore 4 C Saturday, June 23 - Thursday, June 28 
19 Spruce Knob
Explore 5 A Saturday, June 30 - Thursday, July 5 
19 Spruce Knob - Engineering Students Only
Explore 6 & 7 C Saturday, July 7 - Thursday, July 12 
22 Spruce Knob

Explore 8  & 9 A Saturday, July 14 - Thursday, July 19
22  Spruce Knob

Explore 10 & 11 C Saturday, July 21 - Thursday, July 26 
22 Spruce Knob

Explore 12 A Saturday, July 28 - Thursday, August 2   
22 Spruce Knob
Explore 13 B Saturday, July 28 - Thursday, August 2      
19  Tea Creek - Honors Only
Explore 14 C Monday, August 6 - Saturday, August 11   
22 Early Move In Trip - Spruce Knob
Explore 15 D Monday, August 6 - Saturday, August 11   
19  Early Move In Trip - Tea Creek

2018 Program Itinerary - Spruce Knob (A/C)

Day Activity Accommodations
Day 1 - Saturday 9:00 am check-in  - Travel to Seneca
Frontcountry Camping - Seneca Shadows
Day 2 - Sunday Embark into Backcountry, backpacking   Backcountry Camping
Day 3 - Monday Day Two in the Backcountry, backpacking
Backcountry Camping
Day 4 - Tuesday Exit Backcountry, Travel to Adventures on the Gorge Camp at Adventures on the Gorge
Day 5 - Wednesday Whitewater Raft with Adventures on the Gorge - New River Gorge
Camp at Adventures on the Gorge
Day 6 - Thursday Return to WVU, De-issue equipment

2018 Program Itinerary - Tea Creek (B/D)

Day Activity Accommodations
Day 1 - Saturday 10:00 am check-in  - Travel to Watoga State Park
Frontcountry Camping - Watoga State Park 
Day 2 - Sunday Embark into Backcountry, backpacking   Backcountry Camping
Day 3 - Monday Day Two in the Backcountry, backpacking
Backcountry Camping
Day 4 - Tuesday Exit Backcountry, Travel to Adventures on the Gorge Camp at Adventures on the Gorge
Day 5 - Wednesday Whitewater Raft with Adventures on the Gorge - New River Gorge
Camp at Adventures on the Gorge
Day 6 - Thursday Return to WVU, De-issue equipment

REGISTATION

2018 Registration is open.

REGISTER NOW!

Stay Connected With Adventure WV